Black Alumni Advisory Council

The MSU Alumni Association’s Black Alumni Advisory Council gathered on campus in November for their fall meeting. Back row (L-R) are: Harvest Collier 72, ‘74, ‘77, Collierville, Tennessee; Robert Barnes ’72, Jackson, chair; Clinton Vaughn ‘80, Memphis, Tennessee; Jeff Davis, Alumni Association executive director; Carl Nichols ’92, Jackson; Anthony Dixon ‘98, Clarksdale; Kenneth Miller ‘75, Arlington, Virginia; and Leon Adams ‘75, Grand Blanc, Michigan. Seated are: Shirley Collier ‘72, Collierville, Tennessee; Connie Raines ’85, Atlanta, Georgia; Rocheryl Ware ’98 of Clinton; Eileen Carr-Tabb ’85, Starkville; LaFawn Gilliam ’73, Atlanta, Georgia.

Tuition Winner

The Mississippi State University Alumni Association announced Eryn Sanders of Belden as the recipient of the eighth annual tuition drawing. For the upcoming spring 2018 semester at Mississippi State, Sanders will be awarded 12 credit hours of ‘free’ tuition.

Sanders’ name was drawn from 461 submitted in November as part of the Tuition Drawing program sponsored by the MSU Alumni Delegates. The program has become a proud tradition for the organization because it serves as a way for them to positively influence the college experience of fellow students.

Started in 2013, the program is available each fall and spring semester to parents of Mississippi underclassmen who are enrolled full time. Beyond the cost of tuition, the excess funds from the sale of tickets support scholarships and association programs.


The MSU Alumni Association National Board of Directors gathered on campus in October for their annual fall board meeting. The group includes, seated, l-r: Tyler McMurray, president, MSU Student Association; Brad Reeves, national president; Sherri Carr Bevis, national first vice president; and Celeste Carty, MS South 2. Back row: Jackie Ford, former national Alumni Association president; Riley Nelson, MS Central 3 director; William Bowlin, MS North 2 director; Brent Fountain, president, Holland Faculty Senate; Jimmy McPherson, MS North 3; Bert Clark, MS Central 1; Jeff Davis, executive director; Fred Nichols, MS Central 3; Todd Bennett, MS North 1; and Patrick White, Out-of-State 1. Middle row: Carol Moss Read, MS North 3; Danny Hossley, Texas director; Lynn Burwell, MS South 3; Edward Sanders, At-Large director; Stephanie Williford, Out-of-State 3; Terri Russell, Alabama director; Theressia McAlpin, MS Central 3; Andrea Frank, MS Central 2; Ron Black, immediate former national president; and Matt Mahan, MS North 2.