Former National Presidents

Former national presidents of the MSU Alumni Association gathered in the Hunter Henry Center’s Fisher Gardens as part of Former National Presidents Day on Nov. 17, 2016. The group is collectively recognized annually for their loyal service.

Those former national presidents in attendance included: TOP ROW L-R: A.D. Hunt, Charles Cascio, Gary Blair, Ron Black, Jerry Toney, Jeff Davis, the association’s executive director, Walter Becker Jr., David Jones and Clay McWilliams, MIDDLE ROW L-R: B.B. Hosch, Durr Boyles, Bill Long, Steve Taylor, Tommy Roberson, Karen Lawler, Allen Maxwell, Jackie Ford and Bob Montgomery, BOTTOM ROW L-R: Ronnie Walton, Betty Black, Lamer Conerly and Pap McElroy.

L-R: Tuition winner Ryan Pickle is congratulated by Will Basden, MSU Alumni Delegates president, and other delegates Ashley Vargason, Chris Morgan, Abby Sparks, Dipa Patel and Jake Thomas. (Photo by Beth Wynn)

Tuition Raffle Winner

The Mississippi State University Alumni Association announced Ryan Pickle of Hamilton as the recipient of the fifth annual tuition drawing. For the upcoming fall 2017 semester at Mississippi State, Pickle will be awarded 12 credit hours of ‘free’ tuition.

Pickle’s name was drawn from 330 submitted in April as part of the Tuition Drawing program sponsored by the MSU Alumni Delegates. The program has become a proud tradition for the organization because it serves as a way for them to positively influence the college experience of fellow students.

Begun in 2013, the program is available each fall and spring semester to parents of Mississippi underclassmen who are enrolled full time. Beyond the cost of tuition, the excess funds from the sale of tickets benefits a scholarship endowment.

Forty-one students represent the 2017-2018 Alumni Delegates group, and 2017 officers are (L-R): secretary Ana K. Gonzalez of Ocean Springs; Elizabeth Shapley of Ridgeland, vice president of education; president William H. “Will” Basden of Hoover, Alabama; and Joanna P. Bauer of Huntsville, Alabama, vice president of public relations. (Photo by Russ Houston)

2017 Alumni Delegate Officers

The Alumni Delegates program is an organization that serves as a liaison between Mississippi State University students and alumni. Founded in 1980, their purpose is to improve the understanding of the role of the Alumni Association by educating and involving students in activities and events of the association. Student involvement will help foster lifelong relationships while continuing to maintain the Alumni Association’s mission.

Class Ring Ceremony

Another commemorative class ring ceremony hosted by the MSU Alumni Association was held in the university’s historic Chapel of Memories in May. More than 40 students and two alumni received their MSU class rings.

With family and friends in attendance for The Ring at MSU, university President Mark E. Keenum proudly presented the recipients with their official class rings.

The MSU Alumni Association serves as caretaker of the ring program. The campus ceremony is conducted twice annually.