Class Notes


Hugh Summerville (B.S. agriculture, ’68) was named to the Cotton Inc. Cotton Research and Promotion Hall of Fame. Now in its second year, the hall of fame recognizes industry leaders who made significant contributions to the field.



Clay McWilliams (B.S. management, ’71) has retired from Renasant Bank in Cleveland, ending a 45-year career in the banking industry.

Lynn Phillips-Gaines (B.A. communication, ’78) earned a Woman of Distinction Award from the Raymond James Network for Women Advisors. The award recognizes financial advisers who support the professional growth of their peers and are involved within the community.

Barbara Thompson Alexander (B.S. zoology, ’79) earned the Platinum Medal for Excellence in Research from the University of Mississippi Medical Center. A professor of physiology and biophysics, she has received more than $6 million in funding from the National Institutes of Health and the American Heart Association.



Lynn Long (B.S. mechanical engineering, ’81) has published his first novel “Down for the Count: A Gulf City Saga.” He said he was inspired to become a writer after reading a profile of fellow Bulldog John Grisham.

Joan Campbell (B.S., M.S. electrical engineering, ’82, ’90) won the 2015 national Goethals Medal from the Society of American Military Engineers. The Air Force lightning protection systems engineer was nominated for the award after receiving it at the local level. The honor recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of engineering, design and construction.

Renee N. Turner (B.S. civil engineering, ’83) has been selected as deputy of the Programs Directorate and chief of the Civil Works Integrations Division for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Mississippi Valley Division and the Mississippi River Commission.

Doug Davis (B.S. marketing, ’84) was a featured speaker during the annual American Football Coaches Association convention in San Antonio. An Oregon-based financial adviser, he addressed the importance of coaches having a “Fourth Quarter” game plan for their finances.


Travis B. Moore (B.S., M.A.R.G agriculture economics, ’84, ’86; B.B.A. banking and finance, ’84) was inducted into Mississippi Business Journal’s Leaders in Finance program, which recognizes individuals who exhibit exceptional professional accomplishments and active citizenship. He is regional president of The Citizens Bank, Hattiesburg.

FMC Corp. named Tom Wharton (B.S., M.S. agronomy, ’85, ’88) national sales manager for North America Professional Solutions, which comprises FMC’s turf and ornamental and structural pest solutions segments. He will play a key leadership role in expanding those markets.

Bartley P. Durst (B.S., M.S. civil engineering, ’86, ’02) was named director of the Geotechnical and Structures Laboratory for the U.S. Army Engineering Research and Development Center at Vicksburg.

Scott Townsend (BARC architecture, ’88) announced the merger of 3tarchitects and McKinney MacDonald Architects. Partner and design director at 3t, he said the Troy, New York-based firm will retain the 3tarchitects name and build upon the firms’ shared philosophy of personalized service and collaborative efforts.

William Corder (B.S. banking and finance, ’89) is now Columbus community president for BankFirst Financial Services.



Alben D. Roland, (B.S. electrical engineering, ’90) was featured as a Carol Brand Electronic Products “Wire Wizard” in a General Cable publication. He is director of engineering at the company’s Lincoln, Rhode Island, facility.

The Mississippi Supreme Court appointed Walter Alan Davis (B.A. political science, ’91) to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions. He will serve the third district, which covers north Mississippi.

Jerry Toney (B.B.A. real estate and mortgage finance, ’96) was named one of the Top Bank Advisors for 2015 by industry-magazine Bank Investment Consultant. He is president of Cadence Bank.


Shelley Cresswell Thomas (B.S. educational psychology, ’00; M.S. counselor education, ’02) is now executive director of the Greenwood Convention and Visitors Bureau. She will oversee all of Greenwood’s tourism programs and implement programs designed to attract visitors to the area.

C. Meade Hartfield (B.B.A., B.A. general business administration, economics, Spanish, ’01) has joined Bradley Arant Boult Cummings as counsel for the firm’s Birmingham, Alabama, and Jackson offices.

Sled-dog racer Seth Barnes (B.S. chemical engineering, ’03) ran the 2016 Yukon Quest, a 1,000 mile international competition. He successfully ran the Iditarod in 2015 and stands out from other mushers with the Mississippi State hat he wears during races.

Christopher D. Meyer (B.B.A marketing, ’03; M.S. physical education, ’05) has been named partner at Burr and Forman’s Jackson office. He focuses on complex civil litigation in the areas of construction, commercial, real estate and financial services throughout the Southeast.

Lucy P. Priddy (M.S. civil engineering, ’05) was named associate technical director for the military engineering branch at the U.S. Army Engineering Research and Development Center Geotechnical and Structures Laboratory.



Courtney Harris (B.A. communication, ’13) has been named community relations coordinator for the Public Affairs Division of the Mississippi Department of Transportation.


Birth Announcements

Ellie Redden Berryhill, June 4, 2015 to Paul Berryhill (’03, ’04) and Lisa Adcock Berryhill (’03, ’04) of Memphis, Tennessee.

Annabeth Elise and Isabel Grace Parker, June 9, 2015 to Brock Parker (’04) and Kristen Parker (’03, ’07) of Birmingham, Alabama.

Kathryn Caroline Moore, Aug. 19, 2015 to Bob Moore (’05) and Haley Huggins Moore of Corinth.

Julia Frances Weiskopf, Sept. 26, 2015 to William Lee Weiskopf (’07, ’09) and Amy F. Weiskopf (’11) of Jackson.

Kyle Miller Walley, Dec. 21, 2015 to James Walley (’01) and Shey Walley of Irmo, South Carolina.