Foundation names incoming board members

Mississippi State University is fortunate to have dedicated alumni and friends with a willingness to help guide its fundraising arm. Ten incoming members joined 36 previously serving members in January to begin three-year terms for the MSU Foundation board of directors.

Six new members are making their first appearance on the board. They are: John D. Davis IV of Flowood; Michael E. Dunlap of Batesville; Virginia Carron Eiland and Rodger L. Johnson, both of Atlanta, Georgia; Cynthia West Simpson of Plano, Texas; and Mark A. Worthey of McKinney, Texas.

Davis is a 1988 biological engineering and pre-medicine graduate. He later received a master of science and medical doctor degree from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He is neurosurgeon and founding partner of NewSouth NeuroSpine.

Dunlap attended Mississippi State and majored in business. He is president and COO of Dunlap & Kyle Co.
Eiland is a 1989 biomedical engineering graduate who received a juris doctor degree from Emory University. She is a lawyer and managing partner with Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner.
Johnson is a 1971 civil engineering graduate who later earned an MBA from Georgia State University in 1982. He is president and CEO of JKC Holdings Inc.

Simpson is a 1996 interior design graduate. She is a principal and managing director at Gensler.
Worthey is a 1984 petroleum geology graduate. He is owner and president of McClaren Resources Inc.
Also rejoining the board in new three-year terms are William B. Berry of Katy, Texas; Rusty Linton of Columbus; Thomas B. Nusz of Houston, Texas; and Turner Wingo of Collierville, Tennessee.

Berry earned two MSU degrees—a bachelor of science in petroleum engineering in 1974 and master of science in petroleum engineering in 1976. He is the retired executive vice president of ConocoPhillips.

Linton is a 1980 biochemistry and pre-medicine graduate of MSU, who later received a doctor of medicine in 1984 from the University of Mississippi Medical Center. He is an orthopedic surgeon with Columbus Orthopaedic Clinic P.A. and serves as a team physician for the MSU Athletic Department.

Nusz is a 1982 petroleum engineering graduate. He is president and CEO of Oasis Petroleum Inc.
Wingo is a 1967 general business graduate. He is a retired real estate developer and former owner of Sherry’s Hallmark.

In addition to board members, the MSU Foundation re-elected the 2014 officers to another one-year term. They include: Bobby S. Shackouls of Houston, Texas, as president; Earnest W. “Earnie” Deavenport Jr. of Kiawah Island, S.C., as vice president; and Mary M. Childs of Ripley, as treasurer. They, too, are MSU graduates. They were initially elected to their posts in 2013.

For more information on the work of the MSU Foundation, individuals should visit or access twitter @MSU_Foundation.