Alumni Association announces national leaders

Incoming national officers for the MSU Alumni Association include (l-r) Ronald E. Black, Sherri Carr Bevis, Brad M. Reeves and Jerry L. Toney.

As the Mississippi State University Alumni Association marks over 130 years of service, new leaders of the national board of directors have begun two-year terms for fiscal years 2017-2019.

Entering office in July, the national officers include Brad M. Reeves of Jackson as president; Sherri Carr Bevis of Gulfport as vice president; and Jerry L. Toney of Starkville as treasurer. Ronald E. Black of Meridian continues on the board as immediate former national president.

Reeves graduated in 2002 with a degree in management and construction of land development and later earned a law degree at the University of Mississippi. He is a partner with Randall, Segrest, Weeks, Reeves and Sones, PLLC. He is active with the Central Mississippi chapter, where he has served as president, among other roles.

Bevis earned a communication degree in 1986. She currently serves the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office as assistant secretary of state for external marketing. With MSU, she has served as president of the Hancock County alumni chapter and treasurer of the Washington, D.C., alumni chapter. Most recently, Bevis served the association’s national board as South 3 Region Director and remains active with the Mississippi Gulf Coast chapter.

Toney is a 1996 graduate with a degree in real estate, mortgage finance and economics. He is a president of Cadence Bank for Mississippi and a senior financial consultant for the bank’s wealth services division. A former MSU Alumni Association national president, he has also served as president of the Oktibbeha County chapter.

Black, a 1980 marketing graduate, is director of human resources for Southern Pipe and Supply Company Inc. For MSU, he has been on the executive committee for five years. He served two years as first vice president and has served as South 1 Region Director. He is active in the alumni association’s Lauderdale County chapter.

The alumni association was founded June 17, 1885, by the first three graduating classes of then Mississippi Agricultural and Mechanical College. A full-service organization, the association now includes 101 chapters and clubs.

Alumni Association National Board of Directors

Twenty alumni from around the nation are joining the national officers of the MSU Alumni Association as members of the national board. These individuals are serving three-year terms from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2020. They include:

Mississippi Central 1 Region
Bert Clark ’81, Rolling Fork

Mississippi Central 3 Region
Theressia McAlpin ’77, ’98, Pearl
Riley Nelson ’99, ’01, Vicksburg
Fred Nichols ’73, Brandon

Mississippi North 1 Region
Todd Bennett ’97, Houston
Lisa Newcomb ’84, Batesville

Mississippi North 2 Region
William Bowlin ’01, ’09, New Albany
Matt Mahan ’04, Tupelo

Mississippi North 3 Region
Jimmy McPherson ’95, Starkville
Carol Moss Read ’76, Starkville

Mississippi South 1 Region
Will Carpenter ’00, ’02, Meridian
Fred Monsour ’02, ’05, Meridian

Mississippi South 2 Region
Celeste Carty ’79, Brookhaven

Mississippi South 3 Region
Lynn Twitty Burwell ’80, Gulfport
Brenda Smith ’78, Leakesville

Out-of-State Region 1
Patrick White ’90, Spring, Texas

Out-of-State Region 2
Sam Nichols ’77, ’79, Lorton, Virginia

Out-of-State Region 3
Stephanie Williford ’72, Mobile, Alabama

Alabama Region Director
Terri Russell ’84, ’86, Helena, Alabama

Tennessee Region Director
Steve Brandon ’72, ’73, Chattanooga, Tennessee