Foundation names incoming board

The Mississippi State University Foundation is announcing five new members of its 46-seat board of directors that guides the fundraising arm of the 136-year-old land-grant institution.

Having begun their three-year terms Jan. 1, the MSU alumni include:

David B. Hall of Meridian, a 1999 forestry and 2002 MBA graduate who now is COO of Hall Timberlands.
Malcolm B. Lightsey Sr. of Ridgeland, a 1961 graduate who earned a master’s degree in mathematics in 1963. He is the retired president and CEO of SunTech Inc.

John R. Lundy of Jackson, a 1983 agricultural economics graduate who now is a partner with Capitol Resources LLC.

Cynthia M. Stevens of Alexandria, Va., a 1983 political science graduate who now is management principal for government relations at Deloitte LLP.

Anthony L. Wilson of Atlanta, Ga., a 1987 electrical engineering graduate who now is executive vice president of customer service and operations at Georgia Power Co.

Through the years, a host of prominent alumni and friends of the university have held board seats. Members may be reappointed after leaving the board for at least a year after their three-year terms end. Those returning members for 2014 include:

James W. Bagley of Trophy Club, Texas, a 1961 bachelor’s degree and 1966 master’s electrical engineering graduate. The retired executive chairman of the board of Freemont, Calif.-based Lam Research Corp., he was awarded an honorary doctor of science by MSU in 2005.

D. Hines Brannan Jr. of Atlanta, Ga., a 1970 industrial engineering and 1971 MBA graduate. He is the retired managing director of Accenture.

George W. Bryan of West Point, a 1967 general business administration graduate who now owns Old Waverly Golf Club.

James E. Newsome of Washington, D.C., a 1985 agriculture master’s degree and 2001 agricultural economics and nutrition doctoral graduate who now is a partner with Delta Strategy Group.

J. F. “Bud” Thompson Jr. of Meridian, a 1962 mathematics education graduate who now is a partner with Thompson Limited Partnership.

In addition to board members, the MSU Foundation re-elected last year’s officers to another one-year term. The 2014 board officers include:

President Bobby S. Shackouls of Houston, Texas; a 1972 chemical engineering graduate and retired chairman, president and CEO of Burlington Resources Inc. He was awarded an honorary doctor of science by MSU in 2010.

Vice President Earnest W. “Earnie” Deavenport Jr. of Kiawah Island, S.C. He is 1960 MSU chemical engineering graduate and retired chairman and CEO of Kingsport, Tenn.-based Eastman Chemical Co. He also holds a master’s degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was awarded an honorary doctor of science by MSU in 2011.

Treasurer Mary M. Childs of Ripley, a 1980 banking and finance graduate who now is president, CEO, COO and vice chairman of The Peoples Bank.

John P. Rush, MSU vice president for development and alumni, is the foundation board’s CEO;

David Easley, executive director of finance, its chief financial officer; and Jack McCarty, executive director of development, the board secretary. All are MSU graduates.

Incorporated in 1962, the MSU Foundation administers most of the campus-based fundraising activities and endowment funds. The board oversees the university’s nearly $400 million endowment.

More information on the work of the MSU Foundation and a complete list of its board of directors may be found at