Association announces 2014-15 Alumni Delegates

The Alumni Delegates have been a vital part of the MSU Alumni Association for more than two decades. This year, 28 Mississippi State University students have been selected to join the association’s student organization.

The Alumni Delegates have been serving as liaisons between the 136-year-old land-grant institution and its alumni since 1980. The students are selected for the 40-member group and charged with a mission to help improve the MSU student body’s understanding of the association’s role and purpose. These student representatives are considered “alumni in training.”

Over the years, delegates have played an important role in assisting with activities and events such as football tailgate gatherings, class reunions, the association’s annual awards banquet and leadership conference, Senior Celebration, and many other events, both on and off campus.

Among the new members are three Alabama residents: Austin Grace of Chelsea, Emily Dance of Birmingham, and Van Tong of Pelham. Three additional members are from out of state, Emma Sweat of Cumming, Georgia, and Tennessee residents, Morgan Pace of Germantown, and Chase Bowling of Union City.

The remaining new members all hail from Mississippi. They are: Marshall Scruggs and Sanjaris Johnson of Canton; Nick Brewer of Columbus; Annaleigh Coleman and Kelsie Follin of Corinth; Zavian Burns of Flora; Nolen Hood of Houston; Bianca Tatum, Jonathan Lancaster and J.P. Peterson of Jackson; Luke Stanley of Meridian; Josh Creekmore of New Albany; Kaylie Mitchell of Pascagoula; Conner Estess of Petal; Eddie Mac Huddleston of Pontotoc; Katy Penney of Saltillo; Ashley Ricks, Frank Chandler, Hagan Walker, Prachi Singhania and Zhenia Sandanova of Starkville; and Mary Holliman Lanphere of Tupelo.

Members are selected through a highly competitive interview process. This 2014-15 group was chosen from more than 350 applicants to join with 12 returning delegates from the previous year.

Photography by Russ Houston